three strikes you’re out…

Well, now that it’s official: http://www.champcarworld.net/pages/news.php?id=4355

I guess you can figure out what the “brace yourself” alerts to me this afternoon were concerning.

Denver, China, Phoenix. What a fucking joke of a season. What series has THREE major events canceled in ONE season, including the fucking season finale.

Way to fuck up the points championship too dickheads.

My head is still spinning from conversations I had this weekend about our series.
Even at a non-Champ Car event, the topic still comes up amoungst the media.

Pretty comical comments still going around about RM’s hardcard pulling. (first chance I had to talk to the Canadian print media folks about it, and boy did we have some fun convos) (best part was finally meeting and yucking it up with Norris McDonald. What a cool cat he is.)

Champ Car is seen as a joke and unstable by many outside of the protective CC bubble. (not just by media & fans) We are losing our future due to our ridiculous present. The young drivers coming up through the ladder series are being advised by those around them to seek a different direction due to the instability of the series. Hearing that was like a sucker punch to the gut. I was all at once sad and infuriated.

Something has got to change and quickly, cause things are going downhill fast.

2 responses to “three strikes you’re out…

  1. I can’t even begin to express how much this fucking sucks. Not only have I purchased race tickets, I’ve got flights and hotel. I even chipped in for Denith to attend. WTF!

  2. Well the five year plans obviously didn’t include learning from past mistakes. The last couple rounds of announcements for the series have sucked. I see no momentum whatsoever. The product is good, but they can’t freakin’ sell it worth crap. There is obviously a lack of a leadership within CCWS. I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised, since there aren’t many good leaders to begin with. What is the point of buying the series if you’re not going to put the right leadership in place. Considering the moves that Forsythe made over the winter, perhaps it should come as no surprise.

    These are very tough times to a be a fan. I’ve tried to step back from the all the non-racing information, but crap like this just draws me back in and not in a positive way. I’m at the point where I’m questioning the future of the series. It sucks. It sucks. It sucks.

    One of the strengths of the series has been the loyal fans. How long will they retain their resolve to continue to be fans when it is so blatantly obvious that the series is killing itself? And what about guys like Roger who are getting screwed out of money potentailly due to the inability of the leadership. Fans won’t continue to book trips to a race only to have the race cancelled.

    FREAKIN’ IDIOTS!

Leave a Reply

