Daily Archives: July 11, 2008

Reality Check Part 2

I don’t know why I split this into 2 parts. I don’t honestly know what the second part was supposed to contain. Apparently I was a little tired when I wrote part one and didn’t think I would get everything down on the page.

Some of my pics are up over at OpenWheelWorld.net. I will figure out how to create and upload a gallery here this weekend. In the meantime, go check out the gallery from the weekend.

ok… so more disjointed thoughts…

I have to say, for as much grief as the woman takes on track, Milka Duno is probably the sweetest woman you will ever meet in the paddock. She is like open wheel’s Charo. (for those of you too young for that reference, bite me) She always had a smile on her face. Always. She stopped to sign any and every autograph requested and just oozes “nice”.

Actually, I had encounters with Cydie Allemann and Ana Beatriz as well in Watkins. Again, both gals sweet, smiling and welcoming to any conversation.

So where then did it all go so horribly wrong with The Princess ? She’s been a stand offish little beyotch since her Atlantic years, when she went virtually unnoticed [danicamania pr speak] set the world on fire [/danicamaniap pr speak] Did someone tell her at an early age that in order to make it in the racing world she had to be nasty cow? If so they did her a supreme injustice. You see the more women that make the successful foray into racing, and the nicer and more approachable they are, well, the worse The Princess comes across. Especially as these gals, while breaking the gender barrier, also score points, legitimately earn podiums, gain a fanbase, enter and exit the pits without physically harming other competitors and crews, and generally shine as better role models for the sport in general. Where then is the hype surrounding them? They are certainly pretty enough. Where are their commercials? Their interviews? Their pr blitz? I’m looking forward to the day when these gals make the jump to the big show and put The Princess in her place.

So it seems my little buddy E.J was felled with a case of the mumps. 😦 Of course the rest of the paddock garage is breathing a brief sigh of relief for the weekend. I personally think that Vitor is being a little drama queen over the incident in Watkins (it’s called racing boys and girls) but nonetheless, they can all go about their business this weekend without worrying about “big, bad E.J” forcing their hand and proving their driving prowess. Unfortunately my other buddy Speedy Dan (I spoke with him today) didn’t get the call to take over for the weekend. (have I mentioned I like the “bad boy” drivers??) I would have LOVED to be a fly on the wall at the driver’s meeting if that had come to fruition.

Imaginary Scenario:
“Just an announcement to say that E.J Viso will not be driving this weekend” (entire room lets out sigh of relief and nods and smiles to each other) “in the interim, HVM has announced that Dan Clarke will be taking his place” (former Champ Car teams snicker at the irony, Vitor Meira breaks down into inconsolable sobbing)

hehe… I amuse myself.

Speaking of my bad boys, it seems there is still the slight possibility that my main BB will be in a seat in Edmonton. I really don’t know how I feel about that. As much as I want him in a ride… I want him in a competitive ride, for an entire season, not trotted out in front of the crowd like some show pony. If he is going to do a one off, he should be in Montreal for the Nascar race. (have I mentioned it is the who’s who of CDN open wheel drivers? LOL) I am still debating attending Edmonton. It will be very last minute and dependent on the worlds cheapest flight, which likely won’t happen.

Other races on the docket if I can swing them: Mid-O, Road America, Montreal (Nascrap) Belle Island, Chicago. I hate not having the freedom to just pick up and go anymore. Gah!

This weekend: No E.J or HVM, No Dominguez or PCM, and apparently Jay Howard is MIA. (poor bugger… he is really getting shafted this year) (nice bloke, I spoke with him at Watkins) Could be a bit of a snoozefest for me. Oh well… maybe I’ll get more work done! LOL!

speaking of work… later kids.