Time of your life…

Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road
Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go
So make the best of this test, and don’t ask why
It’s not a question, but a lesson learned in time

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

So take the photographs, and still frames in your mind
Hang it on a shelf in good health and good time
Tattoos of memories and dead skin on trial
For what it’s worth it was worth all the while

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life
.

tombstone-ccws.jpg

13 responses to “Time of your life…

  1. I’d have picked “It’s the End of the World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)” myself… 😉

  2. LOL! I have a whole list of songs/lyrics that I’m sure will be poignant at some point over the weekend, depending on which particular emotion is hitting the surface and how much alcohol is in my system…

    I’ll try to resist the urge to drunk rant…

  3. Mine was the next best thing… a “rain rant”… 😉

  4. Meesh, No matter what you plan, please stay in touch.
    I have enjoyed your sharp wit, insightfulness and great personality both in your writing and in person.
    RusL and I were talking about meeting you and other North of the Border friends for a cocktail in Buffalo tonight but things didn’t work out.
    You must like the tombstone. 🙂

  5. hehe… hey Ange! I’m not going anywhere. At least for now. Gonna stick it out for a year and see how it goes. The teams and drivers appear to be excited, so I’m going to support their efforts in hopes of improvement on the fundamentals (car/engine) and venues. (on the bright side, we have a bunch of races within driving distance now)
    I’m crushed by the loss of Toronto though.

    love the tombstone!(thanks btw) Using in my Facebook profile tonight too!

  6. I sent you an email with the article but here is a part that may give you hope.

    …Toronto — is already positioning itself to perhaps be run as an IRL event on July 27…

  7. Ya, they just mentioned on the local news that all hope is not lost just yet… *fingers crossed*

  8. I hope they can find a better beverage sponsor than the last two years. That alone must have cost them in attendance.

  9. haha!! Actually I did speak to someone about that and we laughed. Yes, thankfully no more DUH or Steelback. *shudder*

  10. I’ve never had Steelback, Iron City yes, but anything that is drunk and has ‘back’ in it’s title can’t be too good.
    I enjoy your posts, and you obviously are close to the inside of the open wheel racing circles. I’m just a fan that has an extreme passion for CART’s glory days and Champcars attempt to make it. I only hope for the best in this unification.

  11. For some reason these lyrics came to me when this happened.

    Driver 8, by R.E.M.

    The walls are built up, stone by stone,
    The fields divided one by one.
    And the train conductor says
    “Take a break Driver 8, Driver 8 take a break
    We’ve been on this shift too long”

    And the train conductor says
    “Take a break Driver 8, Driver 8 take a break
    We can reach our destination, but we’re still a ways away”

    I saw a treehouse on the outskirts of the farm.
    The power lines have floaters so the airplanes won’t get snagged.
    Bells are ringing through the town again,
    Children look up, all they hear is sky-blue, bells ringing

    And the train conductor says
    “Take a break Driver 8, Driver 8 take a break
    We can reach our destination, but we’re still a ways away”

    Way to shield the hated heat.
    Way to put myself to sleep.
    Way to shield the hated heat.
    Way to put myself, my children to sleep.

    He piloted this song in a plane like that one.
    She is selling faith on the Go Tell crusade.
    Locomotive 8, Southern Crescent, hear the bells ring again.
    Field to wheat is stricken thin

    And the train conductor says
    “Take a break Driver 8, Driver 8 take a break
    We’ve been on this shift too long.”
    And the train conductor says
    “Take a break Driver 8, Driver 8 take a break
    We can reach our destination, but we’re still a ways away”

  12. I’m trying to come up with some witty comment, but I’ve got nothing. It’s really sad. I think of the last couple of years, the warning signs, and having to hear ” be patient, things are happening behind the scenes”. But the waing signswere clearly written on the wall. So, do I forget the past twelve years and go to Hmestead now? I really don’t think I can stomach “that”.

  13. Here’s my little contribution. Think of Tony George when you read this…

    World Leader Pretend – REM

    I sit at my table and wage war on myself
    It seems like it’s all, it’s all for nothing
    I know the barricades, and
    I know the mortar in the wall breaks
    I recognize the weapons, I used them well

    This is my mistake. Let me make it good
    I raised the wall and I will be the one to knock it down

    I’ve a rich understanding of my finest defenses
    I proclaim that claims are left unstated,
    I demand a rematch
    I decree a stalemate
    I divine my deeper motives
    I recognize the weapons
    I’ve practiced them well. I fitted them myself

    (chorus)
    It’s amazing what devices you can sympathize, empathize
    This is my mistake. Let me make it good
    I raised the wall and I will be the one to knock it down

    Reach out for me and hold me tight. Hold that memory
    Let my machine talk to me, let my machine talk to me

    This is my world
    And I am world leader pretend
    This is my life
    And this is my time
    I have been given the freedom
    To do as I see fit
    It’s high time I’ve razed the walls
    That I’ve constructed

    (repeat chorus)

    You fill in the mortar. You fill in the harmony
    You fill in the mortar. I raised the wall
    And I’m the only one
    I will be the one to knock it down

Leave a Reply

