I call…

bullshit.

The reactions around the bar were pretty funny I must say. I wish I had put money down when we were talking last week and I said if they were gonna toss her a win it would have to be this weekend, cause she won’t ever have a chance again (legitimately) to do it now that the series are unified.

How do you go from practically running backwards, to winning? Pu-fucking-lease. Even SHE looked like she thought it was a sham! I’ve never seen someone so UNimpressed by winning a race, let alone their first. Christ, at least act somewhat convincing.

Any credibility established by the series just went down the drain. If they were gonna toss one her way it should have been Kansas or one of the other podunk ovals mid-season… less suspicious that way.

Unfuckingbelievable in it’s obviousness.

Talk about a full moon…

Ugh… don’t even want to think about it anymore. (it’s making me a little nauseas)

Going to sleep now, for tomorrow is the last real top tiered American Open wheel race, and I want to be awake and refreshed to enjoy every last second of it.

*ps… having a great time in Long Beach. Working far more than anticipated, and it’s really knocked the stuffing out of me, but I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.*

7 responses to “I call…

  1. Can’t agree with you on this one, meesh. She was bawling all over the microphone and ESPN (Classic!) camera, so unless your definition of unimpressed then I’d hate to see what would qualify as impressed… πŸ˜›

    Going to be lots of sour grapes from the Champ Car faithful about this, but a win is a win. Period. Better drivers have won bigger races in less believable circumstances than this.

  2. s/unless/if this… ugh

  3. Well, they didn’t show that, at least from what we saw. We just saw the “bored” looking drive around the track.

    If you think I’m being biased, I can assure you I’ve called bullshit on several Champ Car “winners” too.. . πŸ˜‰ Equal opportunity unimpression! hehehe.

  4. You know I lurves ya, Meesh… πŸ™‚ Don’t take it the wrong way. If I hadn’t worked for so long in the sport my BS-meter might have gone off too… but it would have gone off a LOT more loudly had she done this at Indy next month. That she won in a watered-down field in a rained-out race on ESPN Classic actually bolsters the authenticity of the moment for me. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Now, if PT were to somehow win at Long Beach, THAT would be the weekend’s glory moment. Those who say it’s impossible… well, Danica Patrick just won a race, so what IS impossible anymore?

  5. I didn’t think she had the speed with Dixon and some of the others, but it looked like a fuel strategy win. And those always leave you scratching your head, “but they weren’t that fast?!”
    But of course, a win’s a win.

  6. Meesh, as a longtime IRL guy I gotta say if they were gonna rig a race they would have done so BEFORE the absorbification. Besides, if this is BS then Graham’s win was too, because it’s the same deal – a fuel strategy that played out. Had there been a single yellow the last 50 laps she’s 0-50.

    Danicker was conserving ethanol by adjusting her fuel setting, which was THE REASON she was going so slow in the closing laps. Less rich means less horsepower, but it saved her from making the final pit stop.

    Sometimes the tortoise really does beat the hare.

  7. Meesh, I hate to pile on here, but why so much hate for Danica? I mean, OK, there’s too much hype there. But she does have skills. Second in the Formula Ford race in England is amazing. I also remember when she beat Tommy Kendall straight up in Long Beach in the Toyota Celebrity race. Now, you might argue that Tommy just wanted her to lead him around with a leesh: you might be right. But, if you watched the race, they were racing hard.

    And, OK, her performance since moving up to the big cars hasn’t always been great. But, Rahal Letterman wasn’t exactly putting the fastest cars on the grid, either. Judged against her peers at AGR, she isn’t looking too bad. Although, I’ll grant you that she isn’t carrying the raw speed of a Kanaan or Dixon. She is still relatively young, however, and likely still gelling with her engineers and the team.

    Is the hate because she’s hot? Is that why I am defending her? (My penis has been known to override my brain in certain circumstances, but I think I am being fair here.) Is it just because of the hype? Or is it the trollopy outfits/photo shoots? But, if you’re a female driver and your sponsors want it, shouldn’t you get them the exposure?

Leave a Reply

