Alberta Bound…

So here I am on the plane (ok.. by the time you read this I will no longer be on the plane,  work with me here… ) heading towards the known and the unknown. I really don’t know what I expect to find. I wish I had experienced this race as a Champ Car event so I would have something to base my observations on. Next year in Toronto (and hopefully Long Beach and Cleveland) I will have a direct comparison, but this weekend I’ll be basing it on what I saw on tv and hearsay from fellow former Champ Car peeps. Oooh… we’re over Sault Ste Marie (waves at Brad and calls him a lame fucker for not coming with me this weekend… or ANY weekend so far this season. You suck. )

Here is what I know…

-The track is AWESOME. I love airport tracks. I love that you have the benefit of being able to see the entire track (like an oval) but it’s twisty and turny like a road course, and has race ending corridors like a street race. As a fan or a driver, it is a favorite. I think this will be one of the easier circuits to convert the ovalista fanbase over to.

-As much as people would like to think otherwise, Canadians love their racing and will show up in droves for this weekend, especially with it being the only Canadian stop on the circuit. All the people saying they aren’t coming, likely weren’t coming anyway, and never came last year either. Kind of a weak way to take a stand. That would be like me boycotting Scotch in protest. Would probably hold more water if I actually drank the stuff right?

-Paul Tracy will put bums in the seats (especially in the press room)  and eyeballs on the tv. Love him or hate him, he is the story this weekend. He should have been the story all year. It would have certainly built up some hype leading up to the race.

-I will be in Paul Tracy’s pit all weekend. It will feel like a race weekend again. For the next 3 days I am no longer a race orphan! I have a “home” again. It’s been redecorated, and the new inlaws are a little… um… er… well, not who I would have chosen, but hell, I thanked and shook the hand of Michael Andretti in Watkins Glen for saving my race, I guess I can be equally thankful to Tony George for giving me my racing family back and one weekend of racing joy this season.

Ok.. I got sidetracked watching tv. TV! Live fricken tv on the back of the seats in front you! How cool is that.

Saskatoon!!! (loving this little map gizmo on the back of the seat) *waves at Padre!!*

Anyway… where was I ?

Ah yes… this weekend will definitely be different/better for me. The obvious reason is my guy. (who looks a little like the stay puff marshmallow man in that awful driver suit) But the other reason is that I have already acclimated to the whole “IndyCar” thing now. It won’t be as much of a culture shock for me this time.

EDIT: Ok, so I arrived! Met up with my site mates/roomies, had a little catch up, a little dinner, a lot of laughing and a beer. (trust me, after the day I had leading up to my flight, I REALLY needed to just chillax like that.

I found out that Patty and CJ, and Viv are here! (PT’s wife, son and mom) Sweet! My race weekend is officially awesome now and I haven’t even been to the track yet!

speaking of getting to the track, it is some god awful time here which means its an even more god awful time for me. And considering I’m already running on 4hrs sleep from yesterday, that 6am alarm is gonna be ugly. (much like my credential picture to be taken at 7am tomorrow… yikes!)

I’ll be at Tagliani’s pits for first practice (Cascar 7:30am) … then hitting the Vision/Walker trailers in the paddock then… well then a whole lot of other wandering and roaming and meeting up with folks.

I’ll see what dishy stuff I can upload throughout the day.

Ok… eyelids drooping… more tomorrow.

oh ya… what’s that? PT, P7, first day in the car. Just sayin is all…

5 responses to “Alberta Bound…

  1. And airport courses and made for PT’s chrome horn. That is going to be fun to watch. You’ve almost got to hope for a substandard qualifying position…

  2. If you shake TG’s hand to thank him for bringing “you” PT back “into the fold”, please take a picture. A big one, well focused. My pshop finger is itchy. 😉

    I’m very sorry for you that you have not had the experience of sitting at pit in, which is at the entrance of the main straight kink they take at full throttle. A champcar coming at you and hammering a corner right in front of you is awesome! Let me know what a crapwagon trying the same thing is like.

  3. Buzzard’s luck for Paul in qualifying…shucks. Seemed like it was all going to go right, but then…

    …and now, oh shit…he’s starting one spot behind Daniker ‘Princess bitch-a-lot’ Patrick, with Marco and RHR in front of both of them…and Vitor on the outside. Wow. Fireworks looming…

  4. Not to mention TK coming from the rear. Turn 1 will be nuts! Hopefully, nothing too bad.

  5. Tee hee! I got my wish…yeah, Evan, let’s hope it’s a long race for PT.

Leave a Reply

