Dear TV networks in Canada…

WTF? Just what does one have to do to watch some live racing up here?
It is beyond me why one would choose to run the identical programming as the other channels, instead of branching out and running something different.

I wanted to watch the Kentucky race last night. Hell, I would have been happy with tape delay. (which is basically what I’ve been getting all season anyway) But no, I don’t get to watch the Kentucky race in any way, shape or form on my television this weekend.

Instead I could watch a reairing of the PGA rounds, Baseball, Poker (?!?!) and 14 channels worth of Olympic programming. (I DON’T CARE ABOUT OLYMPIC KICK BOXING!! I just don’t and if I did, I would tune into CBC, cause they have the best coverage of the Olympics, all of you other wannabe’s are just that, wannabe’s, hangers on, greedy fucks who instead of playing to a different audience are splitting the one and pissing off the rest…)

Today I would love to be watching the cup race from Watkins Glen. It’s a shitty, cold, rainy afternoon here and a little racing action (ya, even Nascar) would brighten my day. Again, I am, by virtue of being Canadian and not owning an illegal satellite dish set up, being held hostage by the (insert really nasty, ugly word that shouldn’t be said or typed by a lady on a Sunday afternoon) (no really I had about 4 horribly descriptive nasty 3-4 syllable words just itching to be typed….) assholes at TSN, relegated to watching Live timing on my teeny tiny computer.

Speaking of timing and scoring, there are two other races I would love to know what the fuck is happening with today too. The CTNS race that was rain postponed till today at Mosport. (sorry Meesh, you lose, there is no live timing/scoring for that series. Sucks to be you. Read about it online after the fact…) and the 2nd round of the Atlantic double-header at Road America. (yesterday we got about 8 mins of the qualifying and NONE of the race) Maybe today, with the ALMS circus done for the weekend, there will be enough left over signal to actually send some information out to the interweb.

Bottom line of this mini rant… If someone were to step up and do some radical racing programming on television up here or in the US or Worldwide, it could really open up the opportunities for teams and drivers and race venues to market themselves and work on sponsorship. I don’t know how anybody expects to develop drivers or teams north of the border, or anywhere, in any form of racing, when the coverage is so ridiculously random and afterthoughtish. (my word, deal with it)
Hell, even SPEED TV, which at least used to air racing (delayed or otherwise) has become the VH1 of motorsports coverage. Lots of shows about racing, very little actual racing.

Again, I think this is where VERSUS will be an asset to the series if they put into play everything they put onto paper.

If the junior formula series, who are getting little to no coverage were smart, they would be speaking to the VERSUS folks as well. Especially if their events piggy back on an IndyCar event. (wherein the production crews would be there and set up)

You can’t grow a series airing their races a week later on a Wednesday afternoon. You can’t grow a fanbase if they read about everything after the fact. It loses it’s impact. The whole joy of following racing is watching racing and not knowing the outcome! Sitting on the edge of your seat wondering who will cross the finish line first, and all the other things that happen on track in the meantime. It’s the same with any sport. That’s why there are *spoiler alerts* on fan forums. That’s why people go to great lengths to avoid the news and the internet if they have had to tape a sporting event. Once you know the outcome, it loses something.

ok… that was all very disjointed. It’s that kind of weekend. I’m frustrated by a lot of things. I’m venting. I guess I’ll go back to reading about the cup race…

Lap 11
Tony Stewart swaps positions with Jeff Gordon and now runs fourth. Farther back, Matt Kenseth has fallen from 13th to 17th.

wow… with scintillating descriptives like that, why would I want to actually watch it live??

:bangsheadondesk:

4 responses to “Dear TV networks in Canada…

  1. motorsports coverage in Canada? I get more coverage in the US for leading a race and having the engine fail with 12 to go than I get for back-to-back wins including the closest race in series history with two 25-year-old drivers – and there were Canadian reporters at both events (sort of). Kudos to my fine friend at one nationally distributed newspaper who doesn’t mind when I call him at home late on a Friday night to tell him of our win – so he can report it.

    and don’t get me started on our national sports network who can only report that other than a bunch of old farts, Canada doesn’t have any race drivers of note to take their place. Seems that one 25-year-old double race winner might have something to say about that… plus that young kid racing in Europe that has won a race or two in things like World Series Renault (the stepping stone to F1), A1GP and took a few podiums including a win in Atlantic (when it almost meant something). Gee, maybe a little research – as if they cared, and now they even have a certified racing nut on staff to ask (as if they would)

    gotta go write up my “almost perfect” weekend now. Little Johnny is gonna get bugged about that for a few weeks now.

  2. preaching to the choir my friend… preaching to the choir…

    Ya, I’ve already got the “nut” doing a little covert research for me… LOL!

  3. I’ll let him tell you about his day collecting crash highlights ’cause according to the editors, that’s what the audience wants to see

  4. oh fuck… :rolls eyes:

    I wonder with that mindset, why they don’t only show fight highlights for Hockey, after all, isn’t that why people watch it? (certainly not for the breakaways or the goals!)

Leave a Reply

