3…

more races until the season finale. Where the hell did the season go? Seems like only yesterday we were being blindsided, the rug pulled out from under us, forced to assimilate… but I digress…

3 more days until the race at Infineon Raceway. I’m not familiar with this particular track, so I’m looking forward to watching this weekend. Of course I don’t get to do so until midnight, as TSN sucks donkey balls. Looks like it’s going to be a thrilling 2hrs of “leader cam” while hearing about and imagining what is happening behind Dixon… (hehehe)

Gotta wonder what effect this is going to have on Helio’s chase for the Championship. Pretty freaky that this is the second time something like this has happened this year. (Grand AM hauler went up in flames in May)

While some of my colleagues are in Sonoma this weekend (bastards!) I’m heading to Mosport on Saturday for a little ALMS action and to watch and cover the Star Mazda championship. Go Johnny Go!
Gotta get my racing fix wherever I can. Sunday early evening I have to work, so I can’t head back to the track for the ALMS race. I will however be enjoying the F1 race and then watching the Lights and the big boys via computer in the afternoon.

but next weekend: Detroit!! Credentials all set. Train ticket booked. Suitcase half packed.
No really, I keep it at the “ready” all summer, just in case I can sneak in a last minute race weekend somewhere. Won’t need my suitcase this weekend. Team shirt, laptop, camera, digital recorder. Good to go.

Oh ya, PT not at Infineon, but Detroit and Chicago are still on the table apparently. I really hope they don’t dick him around like was originally feared…

Ok, back to watching the Olympics…
Not as fun as the winter Olympics, but I still get caught up in it anyway. Especially once Canuckdia finally got in the medal standings. (would have been hard to live down Togo winning a medal and Canada being shut out… )

Could be a Canadian thing (we are winter folk after all… hehe) or it could be that after having carried the torch in 88 (very cool) and holding onto just some of Cindy Klassen’s 6 Olympic medals. (she is our most decorated Olympian) I feel more of a kinship, a connection of sorts, with the winter Olympics. * see below*

Fyi… Cindy is the athletic looking blond gal to my left.. LOL!

alrighty then… this was a silly post, but I felt like I had abandoned my blog and it need a little attention. So, Happy hump day! Catch ya over the weekend.

4 responses to “3…

  1. Hold the phone…did I read that correctly? YOU carried the olympic torch in 1988?

  2. Could you say that a little more incredulously ya fucker?? LOL!

    It’s not like I ran into the stadium and lit the damn cauldron, but yes I had the opportunity to run with the torch when the Olympics were in Canada.

    *now I’m gonna have to find and scan that pic huh??*

  3. A scan and a story please!

    I agree, this year has shot past and not just in racing: in everything. Where’d it go?

    Team GB are 3rd in the rankings (4th in ‘total medals’) and well ahead of the 35 planned. Not bad when you think we only got 1 gold in Atlanta ’96, there’s hope for Canada yet!

    I’ll be enjoying the F1 race and then, since I need to feed Dad’s pets Sunday night, I’ll take the opportunity to borrow his satellite TV to watch Sonoma live. How do we get it live and you don’t? Time diff means 10.30pm start here if the listing is right.

  4. Bummer news about PT today…according to Davey Hamilton on the streaming broadcast, there won’t be any deal for Paul at Belle Isle or Chicago. Davey says he got that info straight from Tony George. No time, no sponsor in place…blah, blah, blah.

    Crap. Oh well, maybe next year with Derrick…we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

