living the dream…

So I haven’t had a chance to watch the IndyCar race yet, thus no *live* blog this week. (I was working) I’m sure it will be the usual TSN butcher job, and I won’t be happy about what I’m seeing, but I’ll find that out later tonight… In the meantime, a little personal bloggy blog…

Slowly but surely I’m racking up experience, making connections and testing the waters…

This weekend it was PR/photographer/driver wrangler at Mosport with the AIM Autosports Star Mazda team, as their main PR dude *cough* future boss *cough* was living the high life at Infineon with the AIM Grand AM team (woohoo! A podium finish!)

It was neat as this is a teeny tiny squad (3 crew,1 driver) so I didn’t feel out of place or over my head. It was also interesting to spend the entire day with the team (save for an hour or so when I visited with friends in the ALMS paddock)
I’m so used to being pulled in a dozen directions at the track and looking for the story, it was kinda neat having a singular focus and living the story as it unfolded.

I do rather enjoy the team side of things, (I knew I would) and even though I was PR by proxy only for one day, I felt immediately possessive and protective of “my” team and driver!

I love the secret language of racing.
I love being around racing people.
I love the sights and sounds of the track no matter the hour.

The minute I drive away from one track I’m already working out in my head when and where the next one is. There isn’t an aspect of it that doesn’t appeal to me. Being tired at the end if a long day only means I fall asleep quicker. The travel isn’t an issue at all. I love traveling. I’ve always been a bit of a nomad so laying down roots is not really my style. I already keep in touch with most of my friends (who pretty much all live far away) via the internet, so it’s not like it would be a big adjustment to suddenly be on the road a lot.

I guess the most important thing I learn each time I do one of these “tests” is that this is what I want to be doing.
This is what I need to be doing.
This is what I’m going to be doing in 09 dammit.

6 responses to “living the dream…

  1. Keep that enthusiasm up, meesh. There’s nothing like your first official “insider” gig with a race team. It’s like being a baseball prospect that comes up for the first season with the big club – you feel all the loyalty, the camaraderie, the sense of feeling like an integral cog in the bigger machine.

    Then, of course, you get traded or optioned back to the minors or released, and then you realize how naive you were… but I digress… 😉 🙂

  2. There is nothing like the privilege of being able to do what you love for a living.

  3. *smile* Go, friend.

  4. LOL Yaumb… um… Star Mazda is pretty much the minors… my fall from the top wouldn’t leave but a bruise..

    Sciguy… don’t you know it!! I was lucky once already in this lifetime, I’m hoping to be a little greedy and live it again..

    Mike… thanks friend 😀

  5. and (between you and me) some in Star Mazda must remember they are “still minors” … ahem…

    It is fun isn’t it. The early mornings, the late nights… when the Wendy’s drive through is haute cuisine (ok, I missed the Wendy’s deal ’cause me and a team principal went for Italian to discuss some pending news with the team… a ‘between you and me’ thing)

    the long days and all the smells (that e85 makes me want corn on the cob all the time), the endless hours staring at computer screens trying to spin a mechanical or a DQ into something, well, positive.

    There are teams I would not work for (or more correctly, they would not have me work for them. maverick is not in their vocabulary), so when you find that one special connection, it is really cool.

    I was home long enough to do laundry this week and cram in about 80 hours work because some other clients were winning stuff and required some attention (winning is cool!), pat my dog (insert own twisted reference here) and say hi to my kids (including the one whose motorsport media career has a life all its own)

    My office is still not finished, the grass is well, a jungle (like my kids cut grass) and my wife called me Troy (he’s the plumber who installed the dishwasher this weekend) but I would not change anything.

    And on the plane, I met a guy that is talking about producing some TV pilots (he’s been on speed and spike) and looking for help … more on that later.

    For now, the glamour of Millville, New Jersey awaits (but I am not going back next week for your celebration of birth even if it is only 30 minutes from Atlantic City). Petit leMans is just a month away and …. Star Mazda has their penultimate race there. nudge nudge wink wink

    thanks…. thanks again…. and next time, you can send him to his room if he misbehaves 😉

  6. so you’re saying you’re taking me to HotLanta for my post birthday celebration then? Cool!! 😉

Leave a Reply

