no use crying over spilt Milk(a)…

*groan* I know, but all the other ones were already taken and it’s been a long day and I’m tired but I feel I should weigh in just because.

How bout this: I Duno what they’re thinking!

Ok… enough of that crap, lets just get down to the topic at hand. Milka Duno to Newman Haas Lanigan.

um…. ya… well… hmmm.

Sadly it’s only February, or I would go with this is obviously an elaborate ruse by Robin Miller for the ultimate April Fools day prank. Holy Bizarro racing world Batman!

Obviously I would prefer to see someone of a higher caliber of driving skill in the NHL seat, namely Justin or Oriol or PT. (LOL… that would send just as many heads spinning I think) But the reality is, at this juncture, money talks. She has money. They’re having a dialogue.

I’m not going to go on a “ride buyer” rant either, because essentially the entire line-up is made up of “ride buyers” Should any of the aforementioned drivers suddenly find backing, they will, like it or not, “buy” a ride with one of the teams with an empty seat. Simple as that. The gravy days of simply scouting and signing the best drivers and actually paying them are long gone, and may never return. In the meantime, this kind of situation is a fact of life. Deal wit it.

Milka is a lovely, lovely woman, and works very hard on and off the track to do this, I certainly don’t blame her for “unseating” any drivers (that would be misrepresenting what is happening here) and I certainly don’t begrudge her this opportunity. She has essentially won the open wheel lotto by landing with this team. She wasn’t the worst driver on track last year, so having NHL guidance behind her may just up her game a notch or two… or ten.
And truthfully, I hope she gets in the car and kicks some ass. Proving all of the naysayers wrong! My hope for her is that she takes this opportunity and squeezes the absolute shit out of it. My additional hope for her is that she is treated with respect by her new crew members and given a legitimate chance at improving and succeeding.

So there ya go. My 2cents worth. Now I’m going to bed

13 responses to “no use crying over spilt Milk(a)…

  1. Let’s see…

    Agreed.
    Agreed.
    Agreed again.

    Okay, we’re good! (as if you needed that)

  2. Speechless

  3. LOL Mike! hey, sometimes a little agreement is welcome.

    So Fla Champ -> that’s the flipside of the above essay.

  4. The American Mutt

    This is probably the best post I’ve read on this subject.

  5. hey American Mutt! nice to see you around these parts.

    *humbly bows head at complement*

  6. The American Mutt

    I’m always around, and have read every post. I just don’t comment much in the off season. This particular subject has me much dismayed with many Indy fans though. She didn’t kick anyone out of a seat, and she brings more money to my boy Graham. It’s fine with me. Let her prove herself on the track in a decent car then complain. Fisher (whom I love) didn’t really do any better in what was effectively the same car, and what’s wrong with drivers that are REALLY good with the Fans. We need more of that not less.

  7. It’ll be fascinating to watch her progress. I think she’s come a long way since her debut in the series. Still a looong way off much of the rest of the field mind you.. but like you said she’s certainly not at the very back.
    Graham has a bit of experience now so he can help out with setups, and they can both educate Doornobs about ovals. Given that he’s driven basically ever other OW car apart from IRL cars he could probably teach them a few things, too.

  8. I’m a bit shocked at the news but then again, I’ll wait and see what happens with her and the team.

  9. “I’m not going to go on a ‘ride buyer’ rant…”

    The hell you say!! What the fuck is that????? I come here for some down-home Candian race tirades, not this type of level-headedness. If I want sensible arguments and zero f-bombs, I’ll go hang out at Jeff’s place.

    Get your game face on, mb.

  10. I second that motion Roy! But an interesting POV on the all the field are ride-buyers. I never thought about it that way.

  11. Geesh… I can’t please everyone all of the time. And what the Fuck! is “Candian”, some sort of perversion of Candy ass?! 😉

    No worries boys, there will be plenty of ranting and swearing soon enough. I sense a good “what the fuck are they thinking?!” coming soon regarding the handling of the resurrection of my home race… stay tuned….

  12. Speaking of Toronto, I’ll have to downgrade the likelihood of me getting there from probable to questionable. I’m still hoping for something to come through but I have some doubts. 😦

  13. Dear Friends, Happy Fool’s Day!!!

    This guy dies and is sent to Hell. Satan meets him and shows him the doors to three rooms and says he must choose one of the rooms to spend eternity in.
    So Satan opens the first door. In the room there are people standing in cow manure up to their necks. The guy says, “No, please show me the next room.”
    Satan shows him the next room and this has people with cow manure up to their noses. And so he says no again.
    Finally, Satan shows him the third and final room. This time there are people in there with cow manure up to their knees drinking cups of tea and eating cakes.
    So the guy says, “I’ll choose this room.” Satan says O.K.
    The guy is standing in there eating his cake and drinking his tea thinking, “Well, it could be worse”, when the door opens. Satan pops his head around, and says,
    “O.K., tea-break is over. Back on your heads!”

    Happy April Fool’s Day!

Leave a Reply

