Where there’s a will there’s a way…

no, this isn’t a post about Will Power… Well, indirectly I guess it’s about willpower the thing, not the person. See, WordPress is borked this morning. I can’t access my dashboard or the wordpress mainpage. But… determined to make my voice heard today, I tried the mobile site… from my home computer… low and behold! It worked!

Sadly I have nothing profound to say after all this hard work to get here… LOL!

So I know I said I welcomed the lack of racing action this weekend, but, conveniently, the season finale of the A1Gp season coincided with breakfast this morning! So I packed up my laptop and headed down the street to my little pub, had them cook me a lovely breakfast and booted up a JTV stream to watch the race.

Admittedly it’s been hard to get into A1GP this year, not having a Cdn team to root for. (I’ll refrain from “going there”, but suffice it to say someone dropped the ball big fucking time there) (I’m in my calm happy place today, so I don’t want to get my ire up!)

Speaking of “ire”… Ireland had a stellar season! I put my ‘fandom’ behind them, figuring if switching allegiance and heritage this season was good enough for Daniel Morad, then by golly, I too would embrace my heritage cheer equally for GBR & IRE.

I missed the sprint race, so really couldn’t tell you what happened there. But the feature race was enjoyable. Boring as hell, but enjoyable.

The start was off kilter. First they lined up for the initial start, and one of the teams (can’t remember who now) parked it practically sideways on the grid then stalled it! LOL! oops. The next attempt lead to the typical first lap carnage, taking out a couple of cars. Apparently Team USA was the start of that. (no, not Marco, he’s not there this weekend)

Speaking of Team USA, J.R. Hildebrand had no radio for most of the race, and being DFL, was holding up Ireland for quite a few laps. Later in the race, the commentators were going on and on about there being no blue flags in Amercian racing. What?? I’m sorry, but I’m pretty sure we have blue flags here in North America.

Speedy Dan (who according to a friend of mine from Europe “stands like a bitch” LOL!) Got tons of air time today being that they are in Britain. He raced really well until his car pooped out with 5 laps to go. Sounded like a dune buggy for the final laps! LOL! His was one of several cars afflicted by some exhaust failure, but unlike the other cars who retired, he brought it home! I know he gets shit on by, well, everyone, for some of his bone headed moves when he raced over here, but he was young and green. I think he’s matured immensely on and off track and doesn’t get the credit he deserves for that.

It’s funny to listen to the commentators infusing their personal opinions while calling the race. “With Daniel Morad I supppose anything is possible”…said dripping with sarcasm and subtext… LOL!

Anyway, when all was said and done, Team Ireland won both races and the championship today.
My Irish eyes are smiling!! Cheers mate!

and with that, I’m going back to my stay off the computer embargo, and getting on with my to-do list!

3 responses to “Where there’s a will there’s a way…

  1. Speedy Dan! Yes. Did he get out and kick his car when it blew up? Hope so. Love the color.

  2. no! he kept driving it! It’s sounded like Chitty Chitty Bang Bang! it was hilarious!

  3. What about team USA? We’re closes to Canada. Personally, Marco has done a horrible job for Team USA and the Indy Car league. He has what, one poduim. I don’t care what Robin Miller says about new tracks and a new team, AGR is supposed to be a top teir IRL team, and Marco a top teir IRL driver, but he has shown none of that in A1GP, instead, he’s been involved in a lot of wrecks. Age shouldn’t be an excuse for him. Sebastion Vettel is young, Lewis Hamilton and Kyle Bush are young, but they can acually win races

Leave a Reply

