Bombardier Learjet 550 *live* race blog.

It’s Saturday night… and we’re racing kids.

I have a super secret underground lair feed going, but I may shut it off as it is really bad quality and more annoying than not having a feed at all.

Gave up on the stream. It’s worse than the IndyCar stream. Weird, as I watched on this one before and it was fine. :shrug:

If anyone has a feed they are watching that is good, contact me.

So I’m listening to the race tonight I guess. Fuck.

From the few seconds of stream I get every 30 seconds or so, I see that they made the drivers sprint down through the crowd to get to their trucks for the ride around.

ah yes, the shoe size comparison between Shaq & the Princess…. that’s important information to have.

Much talk on the radio about fitting Shaq into the pace car. One would think they worked that out prior to tonight no? Why do I picture the car bottoming out and sparking the entire way around?

The sun has set, it’s not quite as scorching as it was earlier thankfully.

the Energizer livery debate… It’s 3 for 3 in wins. Is the “luck” attached to Dixon or the livery itself. No pressure Dashley… go out there and win this thing.
(look for the entire field to show up with Energizer liveries at a future race if he pulls it off)

*six minutes away from start your engines*

Have the worlds worst stream ever in one browser on the off chance that it will improve or give me some insight into the action. and the radio stream giving me the call.

blah blah blah… recap of the last race. I’m already bored. This is a bad sign. Who’s brilliant fucking idea was a Saturday night race up against Nascar and the Stanley Cup Playoffs?

Just an fyi, try getting a sports bar in Canada to give up a tv to watch IndyCar while the Stanley Cup Playoffs are on… not gonna happen…

When Shaq tells you to start your engines, you start your fucking engine! (hell, I ran down to the street, smashed a window and hot wired a car!!!)

well, they look to be lined up quite well… near the back anyway…

Green green green!!!

and now we’re yellow, yellow, yellow…

Rahal, Duno and someone else I think… Viso! fuck!

Everyone is of course blaming Milka, but I’m thinking she was a victim in this one.

Replay: Rahal gets squiggly, loses it, and collects Viso and Duno.
The radio broadcast seems to think we don’t care about what’s happening, so they have started to replay the Texas race from last year… WTH??

Graham’s car is torn the fuck up. I wonder how he’ll explain this one. Hopefully he’ll man-up and take the blame. I feel the worst for E.J. & HVM.

and we’re starting again… green green green on lap 12 I believe.
Briscoe gets around Franchitti.

Graham says the car was soooooo loose and it just got away from me.

Now I’m just sad. Poor E.J. He really needs a result this year. Enough of these stupid ovals.

RHR, Lazier, Conway & Wilson all pitted on the Yellow. The “backmarker wishful thinking top off” as I like to call it.

Well the shitty stream has now stalled completely..
and it’s back.
Still shitty. LOL!
gone again.
he didn’t password protect tonight. likely got pulled.

Lazier is playing the roll of Stanton Barrett quite convincingly, getting lapped every 10 or so… (somewhere SB is saying “see, it’s not just me!)

why does the radio show go to commercial? Seriously. bogus.

I’m not enjoying this at all, and if I didn’t have to write the fucking article about the race, I would just shut the lid and go watch a movie.

“Con-weasel” *snicker* smartly pulls the car off with “issues”. Probably doesn’t want to feel to smack of the safer barrier tonight…

ok, I have a semi stable stream for the moment. we’ll see if this lasts (fingers crossed)

Back from commercials.
The Ganassi/Penskes are battling it out for the top spots :mocks surprise:
Everyone else are providing traffic for interesting viewing. (apparently)

how many more of these festivals of dizziness do we have to sit through?

heading to commercial: Briscoe, Dixon, Franchitti, Castroneves and wow… Andretti the Least is up to 5th.

Briscoe has a 6 second lead over the rest of the field. Go Ryan go!

I continue to be impressed by Mario Jonas. He is still up there in the mix and racing smart. Uncle Dale sure knows how to pick talent for the other teams to poach eh?!

Speaking of which, (since this race is so riveting…*yawn* and I’m in a bit of a pissy mood) let’s just talk about something for a sec…

Tomas Scheckter, who was sitting on the sidelines all season, get’s a seat for Indy from Uncle Dale (Coyne for those not familiar with my term of endearment) They use a shitload of resources to get the second car on the grid, to the detriment of Justin Wilson who lost out on track time and resources for his own effort. In return, Scheckter takes himself and his sponsor money to D&R racing. (“Driver Revolving Racing) Why not stay with Coyne? Why not infuse a little cash and experience at that team?
This is one of the things that makes me hate the ‘business’ of racing.
anyhoo…

Green pitstops… all good so far. Everyone in and out cleanly, no problems.

wow… I totally zoned out for a while. Briscoe has lapped pretty much the entire field. LOL! commercial time….

Somehow when I was zoned out Helio got up to second. But that is moot now as Dixie just got around him for second.
Woah! Marco around for 3rd!

commercial (Lap 138/228) I just realized I didn’t eat dinner. I also didn’t go grocery shopping today. oops.

I’m starting to feel like the drivers in last weeks race, just waiting for this thing to be over.

hmm… my stream froze.. came back and the entire field was pitting. No sign of an accident so I’m thinking they threw the “debris Yellow” otherwise known as the “Briscoe is running away with this thing and it’s fucking boring and Andretti is fast but can’t catch him on his own, so let’s manipulate the competition and throw a bogus yellow and try to pull this race out of the shitter” yellow…

Rafa pulling the lap 157 lets get off sequence fuel up. Let’s hope he doesn’t take anyone out tonight and become a fireball like at Indy.

Ok… here comes the restart. Green Green Green. Let’s see if the ploy worked…

Come on Ryan! Don’t let Barnhart ruin your run by changing the script mid play!! Show him who’s boss!

Well, looks like Helio is gonna get the call all fucking season. I hope not, cause I’m so over him.

Foyt IV runs out of talent. Field bunches up for final yellow.

Castroneves gets out in front of Briscoe because of Helio getting the best pit stall, thanks to Power getting a nice chunk of owner’s points at the start of the season…

Fucking bullshit fabricated racing. I’m embarrassed and disgusted right now. This crap is no better than Nascar.

Briscoe should shop himself to another team. Clearly it’s all about the fence climber at Penske. Briscoe be damned. BULLSHIT!

Ugh… I don’t even give a shit about the rest of this race.

Green Green Green… :meh:

Come on Ryan! Get around him!! or at least draft the fucker until the last lap then slingshot around him.

“the racing at Texas, it doesn’t get any better than this”… um… ya Bob it does. Sadly they had to manipulate the race to get some actual racing in at the end.

and while I’m really pissed off, why is Viso listed as first car out?? it is based on who hits the wall first? Cause really, it was Rahal who was out first no??

The AGR teammates are battling it out with each other. Would like to see TK get a good result tonight. Poor bugger has had a crap run lately.

30 laps to go… another commercial… normally that would bother me, right now… not so much…

we’re back… status quo…
Briscoe still behind Helio, Dixon totally stalking them both. Franchitti behind them.

They finally mention AJ Foyt being ok. (yes, two commercials later… apparently it was more important that the racing was “good” again, than what caused the bunch up in the first place)

Geesh, Danicker squeezes “The Least” up to the wall… close call. Not very teammate like…

commercial break…
If I never see this Boost commercial again it will be too soon.

10 laps to go….
Helio and Briscoe pulling away. Come ON Ryan!!

The brats going wheel to wheel for position. Marco gets by her. Woosh!! He clearly has the fastest car tonight (of AGR)

So much for the Energizer advantage huh? Is Franchitti even still in the race?

Ryan got screwed, Helio is apparently going to get the call all year. Puke.
I’m over this season already.

Castroneves interviewed. Don’t care what he said. blah blah blah “love you man” blah blah blah… “they gave it to me on that last pit stop”
no shit sherlock!

stream froze, missed Briscoe’s interview, and Dixon’s.

LOL… Marco “we have to have a sit down” referring to the dicing with the Princess.

speaking of the Princess, I’ve sat thru eleventy billion Danica commercials tonight. Hey other sponsors!!! Put your drivers into some damn commercials!!! We’re sick of the same ones over and over again!
fwiw… I will never purchase a Motorola, Boost, Go-Daddy or Peak product out of protest.

Ugh… now I have to go write this up like it was enjoyable. Maybe I’ll just do a place holder and sleep on it.

51 responses to “Bombardier Learjet 550 *live* race blog.

  1. Jon is just the best tech guy that’s ever been involved in television. Meanwhile, Bob Jenkins seems to be slowly slipping a cog…

  2. Sorry about no feed, the coverage is still much better than ABC, not near as much Danica, shoe size notwithstanding. Who wins, I’m going with Helio as favorite, Danica as sleeper, and Marco as no chance.

  3. Sorry to hear ya lost the good feed up there…

  4. Shaq gives the command with GREAT GUSTO! Everyone’s lit…

  5. I just want some racing

  6. Duno and Graham…the Rematch. Shit.

  7. …and E.J. Double Shit.

  8. Jon just said that he thinks…based on what teams/drivers have said…that it’s N-word truck series rubber that has caused a pretty radical amount of deathwiggles…and likely caused Rahal to lose it.

  9. Wow, that cannot be good if Wiggins is low on money, not good for grahm either

  10. Marco runnin’ the cushion again this year.

  11. HAR! Jack interviewing Milka! I was waiting for her to bite his ankle, but they were both so veeerrrry nice to each other. Huh.

  12. If you did decide to stop for today…but I hope you won’t…I heartily recommend “Almost Famous” for a movie to enjoy, despite the fact it’s 8 or 9 years old now.

    Tags is running pretty well. Kind of a ‘first in team-class’.

  13. WTF, 5 lead lap cars, what is this, F1 circa 1987?

  14. maybe everyone will have a chance when Penske starts running Saturns.

  15. Competition Yellow…

    • The definition of ‘competition yellow’ as found in the latest edition of MeeshBeer’s Dictionary:

      “No sign of an accident so I’m thinking they threw the “debris Yellow” otherwise known as the “Briscoe is running away with this thing and it’s fucking boring and Andretti is fast but can’t catch him on his own, so let’s manipulate the competition and throw a bogus yellow and try to pull this race out of the shitter” yellow…”

      • LOL! I should have a Meeshipedia page!

        • This IS the Meeshipedia page! I’ve learned so many things here… (whew – have I ever!)

          Reminds me of watching “Juno” (Ow-fuckity-ow!) for the first time in terms of the, uhm…reconfiguring…of how to cuss here. Make no mistake, there’s an edgumacation goin’ on here!

  16. The crowd in the grandstand was prob’ly hypnotized a little bit…

    This should serve as a good “7th inning stretch” to keep ’em alert ’til the end.

  17. Well, we’ll see if the short-fill is going to work here for TK. Ah…right…only gets him back on the lead lap. Briscoe is spankin’ these guys and…uh…okay, no, best not use the term “spanking” here, I guess…

    Briscoe is kind of checkin’ out here.

  18. Holy Shit…TK’s fuel valve dumped a few buckets full of ethanol on disconnect!! Glad that didn’t get up on the bodywork…

  19. Meesh, thanks for the updates. I can’t watch the race from here!
    How can the IRL expect crowds at the Canadian races if they don’t show ALL the races live, on a channel that is accessible everywhere.? Or at least a tape delay for $%^&’s sake. We don’t get TSN/2, and the stream I found stopped. Oh well, at least we can watch F1 from Istanbul live tomorrow….oh, wait. nevermind.

    • No problem Mike. I’m in the same boat as you.

      If TSN would take their head out of their ass and put the races on OLN (VERSUS sister station) that would be a start.

      Then again, VERSUS could be smart and stream the races for those of us outside of the US. Hell I would pay for that service if it was available.

      • I didn’t know that OLN was VERSUS sister station. The lack of coverage makes even less sense now!

        TG and Co. have had more than a year to get this right, and it isn’t. I was really hoping this would work out!! But, NAOW racing is even more invisible now than it was during the last years of CC.

        • Well, OLN in the U.S. was rebranded “VERSUS”. It’s still OLN up here. And the programming is very similar, except for… you got it… the races.

          Oh, and TSN owns OLN. Making more sense now?

          TSN, instead of airing the races live on that station, they throw them on the deuce or tape delay them until 3am Monday. Idiots.

          It’s too bad too because the VERSUS product is awesome. Too bad the on track product has been shite this year, especially on the ovals.

        • I just saw your email and realized who you were! woot! Hello old friend! Good to “see” you!

          • Thanks, Meesh, and hi again!
            It’s great to see you too. I’ve lost interest in other race sites, and I’m glad I’ve found your blog.

            I just hope the “powers that be” fix the racing soon, because I’d like to spectate at races again…just can’t get motivated to go these days.

  20. I think Ryan’s gonna inhale Helio when this thing restarts. He’s lookin’ bad-fast here.

  21. Wow…there’s (more) trouble brewin’ at AGR again, it seems…

    Marco’s comment about ‘3 out of the 4 teammates get it about the comaradarie’ (not exactly sure of the wording on that). This kid is more of a chip off the family block than I ever had seen previously, in terms of the incessant finger-pointing.

  22. Meesh, thanks again for the updates, sounds like Helio got the call.
    I’ve really tried to accept this new “unified” series, and I’m about to give up. They really need to fix their product, or more fans will walk.
    BTW, thanks for all the work you do on OOW!

  23. What do you get when you put Mario, Michael, and Marco Andretti together in a basement?

    …A whine cellar!

    *insert rimshot here*

  24. You know what’s sad (for me, at least): Helio won and I didn’t feel joyous about it like I usually do. If that doesn’t say anything about my ennui with the series, I don’t know what does (and you know me, sort of, I’m usually one to be optimistic). I’ll still look forward to the next race because that seems to be how I’m built but I don’t know what else to say.

    • I know exactly what you mean.

      I think if Helio had made the pass for the lead on track, I would have felt differently. Or if they hadn’t thrown the competition yellow to fabricate a more exciting ending….

      I too will be happy it’s race weekend two weeks from now, because that’s the way I’m built too, but it’s getting harder and harder.

      • Ya, except it’s another 1.5 oval. Pressdog should be loving it since it’s the home race…plus they all dig the 1.5-milers. The whole series needs a reconstruct asap. Maybe Roger buying Saturn will open something up…maybe TG’s challenges will make some room for other ideas (not holding my breath on that one, since no amount of logic ever phased his methods before)…like opening it up to multiple chassis mfgs, to start. There I go again…

        • It’s actually a short oval, Iowa. The first race there was a wreckfest. The second race was more like recent 1.5 mile ovals: pass on the outside if you dare. I think the only guy doing passes on the outside last year at Iowa was Quattro.

          • I stand corrected…yep, 7/8 mile. That should make it a little more like real racing. Not sure what track I had in mind when I said it’s a 1.5…thanks for not ripping me about the gaffe!!

  25. That was just a terrible race. Whether or not the yellow that bunched the field was “phantom” is debatable (though I think it probably was), but the rest of the race was horrendous. Almost no passing, except for the ones that happened in the pits due to pit box placement, cars running at near-constant gaps…it’s everything I DON’T want to see in a racing series.

    Based on what I saw last night/this morning (thanks, DVR!), I’m not so sure I’m going to try to go to Iowa anymore…

  26. Thanks for the recap, since I fell asleep. Nothing worse than an already boring-ass race where my driver (RHR) doesn’t have a chance. Seriously, he’s better than this! What kind of fuckery is going on at Vision? Is Prince Edward really getting all the good shit?

    Anyway, I’m with everyone else–totally over the Heliocentric approach to racing. Glad I wasn’t awake for that yellow for “debris,” because it might have made my head explode.

  27. TSN2 HD. Was live. I tried, I really did…

  28. I am responding to the ad for a boyfriend with a big TV. I have a 24″ flatscreen, HD radio, many bottles of Michigan wine, Skyy/Absolute vodka, and Coors beer. I often cook pork chops and brats on the grill and the neighbors are friendly. I have internet access and 2 desk that you can use and I am old school polite (not a stalker or disrespectfull punk). In the intrest of disclosure, I am a John Andretti fan. Let me know.
    I have to go now and email vrs. about taking the ticker away at the end of the race (viewing NOT enhanced TM p-dog).

  29. That sucked, I couldn’t even follow the race at the end, it was putting me to sleep, it was horrible, and fake, with a comp catioun.

  30. Has traffic improved for OWW? Why don’t all of the old champ car fans use that site?

  31. So it’s come to this … N-word phantom yellows. That’s like the ref calling phantom offsides if one hockey team is leading by too much, eh? I almost turned it off. Closest I’ve been in a long time. If not for the noting, I probably would have.

  32. Wow. Missed the race-was going to catch it on DVR, but don’t know if I want to after reading that thread. That’s one of the least cheery groups I’ve seen since the implosion of CC.

Leave a Reply

